Increasing university tuition fees and limited graduate job prospects have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts like philosophy and history and only offer practical courses that maximize employment chances. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable fact that the contemporary terms of universities about fees and competitive labour have made people question the value of arts subject. Personally, I partially agree with that high-cost universties should concentrate on practical courses, however also believe that history and philosophy still have key role for society and future.

To begin with, the arts are crucial for cultural and social developments of population. It is obvious that, subjects like history and philosophy build sustainable mindset, informed and responsible citizens. For example, many Azerbaijani-based researchers argue that the biggest spending on philosophy and history could shape an unite idea in last decades, which may contribute the preserving for the national identity of state. In addition, states, which are younger, need form their local historical science to resist external forces. Thus, the impact of art on society indeniable.

On the other hand, students invest big amount of money to education in order to facilitate their well-being and find high demand jobs. It is clear that, although cultural professions pivot role in the society, this type of profession often cannot guarantee the high-powered job title for them. For instance, according to study of Harvard University, the strong impact of artificial intelligence and technological development form new labor rules for in the coming years, which means hiring requirements will be technological prone. In addition, the holistic development of education will be sufficient for future person to shape their own mindset rather than listening or reading any opinions from philosopher. Finally, new generation is looking forward to invest a returnable education rather than useless.

In conclusion, even though philosophy and history have invaluable impact on society, future hiring and life standards are completely different than current situation.