Increasing university tuition fees and limited graduate job prospects have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts like philosophy and history and only offer practical courses that maximize employment chances. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The drastically increasing collage fees and its relationship with the decreasing number of employments have raised a concern for individuals. Implying that universities should not offer art subjects, such as philosophy and history, and start teaching applied major related subjects that improves rate of employment.

Art subjects should not be considered as a drawback for students, as they are not related to the major they are studying. Such as philosophy that might not ease the graduate’s way on finding a job, but it would change how he thinks, making him more creative or even changing his perspective on life. It might alter his way of doing everyday chores to the better, making him more efficient and happier. Furthermore, we do not want to lose that in our graduates, unless we can afford a society of brain rotted individuals that has no sympathy or rationality in taking decisive decisions.

However, faculties are facing a bigger problem for now, they need to improve their courses for better employment chance for graduates. By applying subjects that are clinically related instead of art. As employers wouldn’t care enough if the applicant took philosophy or history, they would pick the collage dropout that has a 3-year experience in that field over the degree.

To conclude, making you creative or a rational thinker wouldn’t pay you to live. With the rising inflation and the increasing number of graduates, universities should rethink there way of teaching. Unless it would cause them to lose much more students picking real hands-on experience over unreliable degree.