Instructions Write a text to be published in an online magazine, discussing how people deal with temptations in today's society

Evidently, nowadays our society is filled with various temptations. Almost everyone has some kind of habit or addiction that negatively affect their life. The vast majority of individuals who are addicted to something realize it; however, they still continue doing it. As a consequence, their lives become too dependent on those habits that they don’t even want to get rid of them or don’t know how to do so.

To begin with, I would like to talk about the most significant temptations and their influence on us. The first things that come to my mind are cigarettes and alcohol due to their widespreadness around the world. They play a substantial role in lives of many people. Many use them as antidepressants, whereas some believe that it’s better to smoke or drink than do drugs, which is only relatively true, in my point of view. The next temptations on my list are, obviously, drugs. “Drug” – this word has become a synonym for the word “addiction”. Everyone acknowledges that they have the most catastrophic effect on the human body: mood swings, mental issues, depression, and so on. Still, a lot of people do them on a regular basis. “Heavy” or synthetic drugs (heroinn, amphetamine etc.) are the most terrifying because they always lead to serious physical damage: wounds on the body, rotten teeth, immune diseases. Moving on to our health, I must mention sugar – this is definitely the trickiest one, considering that it’s hidden in almost every product that we consume daily. I assume, that almost every person is aware of its negative sides, but still, it is clearly normal in our society to eat sweets. Generally speaking, I have nothing against them and other products that contain sugar; however, I stick to the point that we should pay attention to our nutrition more and try to limit them in our diet. What we eat is clearly vital for our health and body. Lastly, there are more temptations such as gambling, fast food, sedentary lifestyle and many others.

Speaking of the ways how to deal with them, I tend to think that media is the most important method of spreading the idea of removing those habits out of our society. Frankly, even though I consider media as one of the major factors that has led to the popularity of many addictions, I still reckon that it might come in handy. First of all, the governments of countries should allocate more funds on promoting healthy lifestyle. Furthermore, providing some perks that will make sports more accessible is a great idea. Secondly, many adjustments in our education system must be taken. Children need to be encouraged to participate in sports, healthy activities and normal diets; peer pressure must be absent. Moreover, teachers should talk more about temptations and their devastating effects in order to make kids afraid of them.