Intelligence is the most important quality for a leader. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a widespread belief that intelligence is the primary and only important quality for a good leader. However, the fact that a person has a high intellectual level does not make him or her someone people will follow. I firmly believe that a perfect leader should not only be smart, but, what is more important, he or she also should be able to communicate with people and manage work processes.

To begin with, I want to explain why soft skills, such as communication, sympathy and other social skills, are initial for a good boss or leader. There is no doubt that the workflow will be more effective if all employees are committed, and it is the chief’s responsibility to encourage them. Of course, a person with a wide range of social skills can easily inspire people. In addition, people are more likely to report about some problems they face dealing with some tasks if they are not afraid of their boss. This way, the whole company or team benefits from a safe and friendly work environment, which a person who understands the employees’ needs and pains can provide.

One more thing that is crucial for being a good leader is management skills. One may be the smartest person in the whole world, however, no one can do and control all the work. That is why the boss is responsible for delegating tasks and being able to build the workflow the most efficient way. It is genuinely hard work to manage a group of people, and only a person who has profound knowledge in management can set goals for the entire team and lead people to success.

In conclusion, intelligence is, of course, a very important quality of a leader, however, there are some features that are even more important. In my opinion, a person who possesses a combination of social and management skills will be a more successful leader.