International sporting events are costly and bring problems to the hosting country. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give specific reasons and examples to support your position.

It is a prevailing belief that global sporting competitions are formidably expensive, and it create troubles for the countries hosting them. I fully concur with this notion that these endeavors are capital intensive, and manifest problems for the hosts not only due to its financial implication on national exchequer but also cultivating the perception among the public that money is being wasted.

The escalating cost of arranging an international sports competition affect the country’s economy heavily. It is because the construction of new sporting infrastructure like stadiums requires huge sums of money that can be utilized for addressing other useful activities of nation’s welfare, particularly health and education. For instance, the recent extravagant spending of China and Qatar on the conduction of Olympic games in their countries are the glaring examples of how expensive these games are.

Furthermore, it alienate the populace by augmenting the belief that government are throwing away their resources on projects that are not bringing any positive change in their lives. Due to its little impacts on the improvement of socio-economic status of citizens, and its only application to garner international recognition for a country among the comity of nations, they are largely regarded as wastage of money. That’s why civil society always protest against the holding of any such event that is not helping in the uplifting of people’s lives.

In conclusion, a hefty sum of money is spent on the international games conduction that are often counterproductive for the country’s economic health. In my view, I fully agree with this assumption that these measures are uncalled for because not only it drains valuable resources but also create divide in the society.