International tourism has greatly benefited many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and environment. Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Welcoming international tourists can certainly be beneficial for the many places they visit. However, as time goes by, they can also bring some negative effects towards the surrounding area, the people, and the animals. This essay will discuss the issue by stating the good and bad impacts travellers bring when visiting a location.

Many people from all over the world visit famous places for vacation with their friends and family. As the number of international tourists visiting certain locations increase throughout the years, many of the places earn the benefits. For instance, a cultural heritage site is able to gain more income when more explorers buy the entry tickets, food and beverage from stalls, and try on traditional costumes. Hence, allows locals living there receiving more profits to support their daily essentials. Surprisingly, tourism not only can it bring numerous benefits to the locals, but it also can introduce a site’s beautiful culture and its history to others, as wells as a way to preserve them.

On the contrary, tourism in many famous attractions also have some disadvantages. Firstly, everyone will most likely litter all over the place and cause pollution to the land and water areas. This will certainly create an unsanitary environment for everyone because wherever they go sight-seeing, there will always be a big pile of trash or unpleasing scent. Secondly, it may destroy numerous habitats belonging to several creatures which could possibly lead them being endangered as well. A large number of extinct faunas may create a drastic change in the ecosystem there. In addition, international tourism may even destroy the overall beauty of the place as time goes by. Lastly, when more visitors come for holidays and a destruction of the location caused by them, locals living there could feel uncomfortable in their own homes.

To sum up, it is true that the negative impacts brought by these “backpackers” dominate more than the positive ones. In the future, it is hoped that visitors should also be involved in protecting the environment and respect the inhabitants there.