International tourism is developing at a high rate. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the contemporary world increasingly a greater number of people are travelling abroad these days. Just as the moon has 2 sides so does this trend possess merits and demerits which will be discussed in this essay.

With regard to benefits, by far the greatest upside is getting the experience people can not have in their countries. In other word, due to countries’ geographical locations , people living in various parts of the world do not have opportunities to witness all wonders of the nature. To illustrate, not every country can offer its citizens to see Pyramids of Egypt, or not every citizen can swim in beautiful sea water if people do not make rips to oversea destinations. Another positive outlook is that tourism might impact on the local economy favourable contributing to higher standards of living. To be more precise, in order to serve visitors from other countries, tourism industry employs more people which is beneficial not only to state budget but to domestic work force as well. For example, in countries where tourism is developed , like Spain, France, Turkey, more then half of the state budget’s income comes from leisure industry.

Regarding pitfall, the most worrying downside is an adversary environmental footprint travellers leave after visiting an recreational spots. Rather, people visit unspoiled and untouched place bringing with them their food and other stuff. Hence, the leave their trash and leftovers in those areas which is responsible for ecological catastrophe in numerous parts of the globe. For instance, the stunning and picturesque beaches of Bali and Bora-Bora islands, which used to be attractive, have now turned to disgusting places for tourists to visit. A further criticism could be the rise domestic prices which is attributed to large number of tourists. To put differently, when there is high demand prices go up. Foreign travelers can afford to get these savices. It could be really expensive for local people, though.

All in all, both tourism industry and tourists number are increasingly exponentially possessing greater influence on the world. However, if governments and societies do not take steps considering its pluses and minuses, nobody knows what results it might arouse.