Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is proposed that interviews in talent hiring process of most large scaled corporations offer little reliability. However, compared to some alternatives, this method is necessary to employ the suitable candidates for working purpose.

First of all, despite the growing popularity of CV screening and various online assessments testing the applicants’ soft and hard skills, interview one-on-one almost always the last round in a hiring process. In some cases, an online interview can be held in place of offline if there are difficulties geographically. Because there are risks of fraud and cheating when a candidate completes online tests only. Therefore, interview is still of vital importance when it comes to scouting a suitable employee.

Additionally, meeting directly face-to-face provides an opportunity for both the employer and possible employee to get acquainted with each other before reaching the final settlement. For example, services occupations and sales roles require experience and skills which do not appear on the surface and cannot be measured using tests no matter how advanced the Internet is. Or models also need to walk onsite in front of the judges even after submitting videos already. In other words, a hunch from seasoned managers can estimate certain vital qualities and knowledge necessary in real life operation with more precision than results and numbers.

In a nutshell, I believe that the interview round plays a significant role in assessing potential applicants for jobs, either for entry-level or senior positions, which definitely forms a solid base for employers to decide who is suitable with less risks involved in the procedure.