Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

In the contemporary era, the governments are finding solutions to the improvement of the prison system. While some people think that doing community service without compensation should be compulsory for criminals besides putting them in jail, others believe that it is necessary to keep them in prison in order to ensure safety. The following essay will discuss both views before presenting my stance on the matter.

On the one hand, those who are allowed to do unpaid community work should be individuals whose crimes are minor or non-violent. First, the adoption of this punishment to those people can illustrate a lower risk of reoffending while they remain connected to society. In turn, it is they who can avoid direct exposure to hardened criminals, which might trigger negative feelings and some mental health problems, especially for first-time offenders. In addition, their useful work not only encourages behavioral reform but also makes significant contributions to the local area in which they can make amends for past mistakes. For example, by participating in some activities like constructing schools, supporting people in disasters or helping the elderly, offenders may develop a sense of responsibility and make their later reintegration with the community easier due to the positive impressions they have made.

On the other hand, imprisonment should be applied to hardened criminals for certain reasons. First, incarceration acts as a physical barrier between vulnerable groups of society and those convicted of serious crimes – murder or smuggling, which can prevent further offences. For instance, if a murder is permitted to go outside the prison even if there is supervision from police officers, there is no guarantee that he will not take advantage of that opportunity and get revenge on the family of the victims in secret. Furthermore, being kept in prison also sets an example for other prisoners. As in this situation, their freedom is restricted and they are hardly able to interact with the outside world. As a result, high-risk individuals receiving disproportionate punishment can ensure equality. Recommitting to be happening frequently, the society is worried about the dangers surrounding them. Therefore, the public may lose their confidence in the justice system.

In my view, these two methods should be conducted, based on the severity of the crimes, to streamline the system and avoid undesirable consequences. Particularly, non-violent criminals should be enabled to do unpaid community work and more serious criminals should receive strict penalties – imprisonment. However, although community service is applied to minor offences, the constant presence of supervisors and additional security cameras (if possible) is still needed so as to ensure safety and promptly notice unusual behaviors from prisoners who are intent on escaping from prison.

In conclusion, while there is a debate over whether community service should be integrated or not, I believe these two methods – doing community work and being kept in prison, should be integrated and implemented according to the crimes’ risk and degree, which can make the prison system become more effective in the rehabilitation of prisoners and public protection.