Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that some prisoners should be coerced to work for community without getting reciprocated instead of being in a jail. This essay agrees with this thought. Incarcerated people may learn how to be a useful person to the society. Moreover, this method may prevent mental issues from happening.

I think that, jails only prevent guilty people from doing illegal things, rather than actually teaching them a life lesson. In this case, unpaid community work may be useful for them to accomplish something in life, forging them as someone who has responsibilities, not someone who does vile actions without any consideration. They may learn about abiding by community rules and constitution. Not only that, they would also obtain knowledge about a job field which may preclude future unemployment issues. For instance, many of the internees who were released in the past, had to commit unlawful actions again, as they did not have any living source.

Additionally, a person needs strong mental health to overcome all the bullying and altercations that may happen in such environments. Humans are social entities and can use this as a shield to surmount problems. Therefore, they need social interaction or work and study atmosphere in order to cope with such concerns. For example, it is concluded that people who are unemployed or have no friend groups undergo much severe psychological problems than those who have jobs and healthy friend circles.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with this view. Incarcerated people are not bad, they are people who have done some bad things in the past, as they had no one to teach them what is wrong and what is right. They need help and support in order to be a successful member of society. Community workplaces can propel them positively in this orientation.