Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, interviewing candidates has been a widely used method for employment. Some people are of the opinion that such approach may not be valid enough because of some demerits that can be derived. Despite not disavowing this might hold setbacks to some extent, I firmly believe that the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.

Admittedly, there are some reasons that explain why opponents argue that the interview method might not be suitable for recruitment. Firstly, it is acknowledged that results of an interview can be influenced by interviewers’ subjective viewpoints. To explain, those who are in charge of interviewing are said to be likely to hold biased views based solely on applicants’ academic backgrounds, which results from either during the CV screening or the first impressions. Such hasty judgments might affect the interview process, possibly leading to mistakenly hiring unsuitable candidates. In the long run, this can have a negative impact on the company’s innovation. Another compelling reason is that an interview is naturally a short communication between interviewers and candidates, which usually lasts for around 40 minutes. It is, therefore, believed that such a short time of an interview might not be adequate for employees to showcase their potential and skills, which may make HR staff overlook qualified applicants.

However, I am still of the opinion that companies and organizations should utilize interviewing for employing new employees because of some merits it offers. At the personal level, interviewing is an effective way that those who are unemployed can find a suitable job. Indeed, nowadays, there are a wide range of firms which still prioritize such method, such as Vietnam Airlines or Vinamilk; therefore, the candidates’ percentage of being employed and working in a great workplace can significantly increase as the more interviews take place, the more chances can bring about. Moreover, at the organizational level, it is clear that interviews can facilitate money-saving. This can be explained by the fact that, through CV judgment as well as interviewing candidates, candidates who are unqualified and unskilled can be eliminated. Companies, in this way, may not necessarily spend the budget for training or practicing new staff. This is of paramount importance as such an amount of money can be allocated for more essential tasks such as investments and upgrading infrastructure.

In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages, the interviewing method seems to be beneficial for both candidates and companies.