Interviews form the basic selecting criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that the interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is being argued that interviews are fundamental selecting criteria for most big organizations whereas, some people believe that interviews is not a right method of choosing whom to employ and there are other alternative methods also which is better then interviews. In my opinion, interviews are useful but I partly agree that they should be combined with other selection methods to choose best candidates.

On the one hand, there are two main reasons for why interviews are reliable method. Firstly, through interviews companies can direct communication with person, from which they can see behaviour, attitude and confidence of the candidate. For some jobs it is necessary for candidate to speak respectfully and politely to people. Through interview it can easily be judge that candidate behaviour is polite or not. Secondly from interviews interviewer can know about the background of the candidate by asking the follow up-questions. They learn about the applicant previous experience and problem solving skills also. Hence, interviews are the reliable method.

On the other hand, there are some reasons also why interviews is not reliable method because sometimes person is good in academic or practical fields but their speaking performance is not very good or they get nervous during interviews and they does not perform well even they have professional skills. However apart from interviews there are other alternative methods also exist which can easily find candidates abilities such as internship or trial work. Employers can see how the candidate perform in real work situations. For example in restaurants, chef cook food for trial before hiring.

In conclusion, views may differ. It seems to me that interview are reliable method for behaviour and communication skills but they are combined with other method to choose best employees.