IS IT TRUE THAT MANY COUPLES END THEIR MARRIAGES WITH A DIVORCE?

It is true that divorce is gaining ubiquity in this day and age. Some spouses who are desperate with their relationship give attempt to keep the family intact for the sake of their children’s happiness. While this decision can bring about several benefits for their kids, I believe that its demerits are more significant.

On the one hand, the maintenance of a troubled marriage can be conducive to the children in several ways. Firstly, kids can receive the instant supports from both mother and father as the whole family still live under the same roof. Secondly, it is believed that different genders are attributed to different natural advantages, for example, men are normally tough and decisive whereas women are regarded to be emotional and tender. Hence, staying with both parents, children can be educated comprehensively. Finally, kids who live with their lawful parents can avoid discriminations as well as ridicules or cruel jokes from their peers, which can severely affect their mental health.

Nevertheless, I believe that keeping marriage in the hope that children can be happier may result in more tremendous disadvantages. As a couple are no longer in love, quarrels and even violent actions are unavoidable and at last, the victims who suffer most are no one but their children. These painful scenes may ingrain in their immature brains, adversely affect them in the long run and they might view marriage as a curse which should be avoided. Even worse, the children could blame themselves and end up being devastated once they acknowledge that they themselves are the reason why their parents try to stay with each other against their own will. Furthermore, unhappy spouses normally have conflict ideas in the way they educate their children, which constitutes confusion among kids about who they should follow.

In conclusion, the argument of keeping marriage intact while love no longer exists apparently sounds reasonable in terms of the children’s happiness. Yet, the potential drawbacks could outweigh its foreseeable advantages.