It can be difficult for small local shops to compete with large supermarkets and with on-line shops. How does this affect local communities? What could be done to improve this situation?

Nowadays, as big supermarkets and online shopping has become popular, local small business owners are struggling to compete with them, which often lead to decision to close. This might result in a decline overall aesthetic appeal of community and employment opportunities for local community. However, there are a number of possible solutions to address these problems.

Primarily, when local shops are unable to compete, they often decide to close permanently. When these establishments are forced to halt their businesses, the social fabric of community may be weakened as these local shops mostly serve as gathering places for local residents to meet with and engage in meaningful conservations. However, action can be taken by the community itself to solve this problem. They can introduce initiatives such as “shop local” campaigns in order to encourage people to actively support local shops. In turn, this would have a widespread impact on discouraging residents from traveling to great distances to access necessary goods and services.

Secondly, another issue that might arise from this problem is the loss of job opportunities and reduced income for local residents. This has a ripple effect on the overall economic well beings of individuals and families in the neighborhood. Therefore, the problem should be tackled with careful consideration. By implementing policies that provide incentives or support to small business enterprises, governments can help local shops sustain their businesses. For example, exemption from taxes or financial grants aimed at sustaining local commerce can be really help for small business owners.

In conclusion, the fact that local shops are struggling is, of course, a concern, Nevertheless, by taking action to provide support and sustain these businesses, it is possible to solve these problems and encourage residents to shop at local markets.