It costs a lot of money for a country to host an international sports event, such as the Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people think that this is a waste of money, while others believe the opposite.

It is widely debated among some people that hosting international events as Olympic Games or World Cup is an unnecessary and costly activity, whereas other believe quite the opposite idea. I am personally convinced that it is significantly wrong to say that it is waste of money.

First and foremost, various events, not only sports activities but in general are mainly found to be tremendously contributing to local economics. That is because, such activities attract a significant amount of tourists. Subsequently, those tourists are usually keen to spend money while they are staying in that country. All the local services will be on guard to entertain and serve the guests, thus making their revenue bigger, which leads to bigger taxes that pour to the country’s treasury, boosting the economic circumstances.

The next reason of my opposition with the statement above is that international activities promote the country and increase its popularity in the eyes of citizens of developed countries that are considered to be the wealthiest among other countries in the world. Consequently, those people have more opportunities to travel abroad and attracting their attention is the major target for developing countries to persuade them spend time and money exactly in there. In addition, successful execution of such events tend to earn more respect and recognition for the local country in the worldwide arena.

In conclusion, although some individuals might claim that it is utterly unwise to host international events in terms of economical matter, I strongly believe the very opposite idea that it plays the most significant role in making the country more tourist-based, thereby increasing the investments and general money flow from abroad.