it has been observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects at university. what are the causes of this? what effects can this have on society?

Many people argue that in most countries students are not interested in science subjects anymore and I believe there are various reasons and one of them is high fees for various science subjects at universities.

On the one hand, due to inflation many people are struggling to make ends meet and they are unable to live comfortably. Also, the students need funds to pursue higher education and most of the science subjects have higher fees, while other subjects are less expensive. In addition, due to social media many students are neglecting traditional ways to learn and make money. They choose easier subjects and then pursue their careers as a youtuber or an influencer because of their motivation to earn money rather than serving the nation.

On the other hand, society needs professionals like doctors and engineers to thrive. If there is a shortage of doctors many people suffer to get adequate treatments. Moreover, many developmental projects are ruined or halted due to shortage of engineers. Sometimes, engineers are hired from other countries and this puts a pressure on the government because the government has to provide higher salaries and other facilities to them.

In conclusion, because of higher fees many pupils avoid choosing science subjects. Additionally, in this modern age where social media is more important, many youngsters pursue this as a career rather than getting education in the universities and it does impact society because shortage of any health care professional or engineer means the government suffers to provide adequate support to the public as well as the country.