It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

In recent years,there has been a growing debate as to whether knowledge from books is more crucial than knowledge gained from experience.Proponents assert that it is knowledge from books that plays a more contributory role in life, while opponents insist that practical education should be highly regarded as the most fundamental one.In scope of this essay, both views will be justified before any conclusion can be reached.

To start with, several reasons account for why knowledge from books is considered the most important.However, the most primary one stems from the high level of accuracy.By far the best illustration of this is that books are written by specialists and experts in a particular field and edited by well-known publishers before being published.Consequently, information learned from books is always accurate, reliable and fact-checked before reaching readers.Furthermore,knowledge from printed books consists of principles and theories as a result of long studies that can generalize many phenomena for people to understand.Accordingly,these moral values can be applied in a variety of situations in reality.

On evaluating the opposing viewpoints, numerous people put forward the idea that knowledge gained from experience plays a more predominant role in human beings lives.It is largely attributed to the fact that skill learning is impossible without practical guidance.For instance, a survey at Sydney University proved that such vital survival skills as swimming, cooking must be acquired only through hands-on experience.Another essential point is that if people totally depend on theories and principles from books, it would be extremely difficult for them to solve immediate and unexpected problems that come up in reality.This has several implications, chief of which is that it would sooner of later limit human’s ability to adapt to urgent situations as well as expanding their horizons.

From my personal perspective, a balance between the two methods of acquiring knowledge should be taken into consideration. It is assigned to the fact that the equal combination of both practical and theoretical knowledge would benefit human beings the most.

In brief, despite valid and logical reasons held by both sides of the argument, I am fully convinced that it is best to maintain a well balance between knowledge from books and experience.