It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community. Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults?

It is considered by some people that, youth should do voluntary works for some specific period. While there are some drawbacks of this suggestion, I believe the merits outweigh the demerits.

There are a number of benefits of volunteering in our society. Actually, government workers are sometimes not able to assist an enormous number of population who need help urgently. Local young volunteer might be very effective solution in that case, if they work together with government authorities. Secondly, children can learn their duty on the society by this great work and it may helpful for them in future to be a part of the community. Furthermore, it could be an effective way to boost their leadership traits, team work capabilities, and communication skills.

Despite the benefits mentioned above, unpaid voluntary work has some drawbacks too. To begin with, doing unpaid job may results debt in the end. For example, students who are not financially established could struggle financially for having no income. In addition, if the unpaid job is out of their course-related field, it can waste their times rather than enhance their skills.

In conclusion, although there are some negative outcome of voluntary job, I would argue that it could implement in our society for improvement of the zealous youth in a long run.