It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

In the contemporary era, it has been widely regarded that every person around the globe wants to possess the latest technological devices, such as a car, television, and refrigerator. Although there are numerous adverse ramifications of this trend, I hold the opinion that the benefits of this progress outweigh the disadvantages. This essay will elucidate the detrimental effects of this development as well as my opinion on why I support the advantages with relevant information.

To commence with, there are a number of drawbacks related to the environment and the health issues due to these devices. The first and foremost is that cars and refrigerators play a paramount role in the environmental degradation. In other words, cars release toxic gases from the exhaust, including carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide, while fridges release CFC gas, which significantly affects the air quality, resulting in the air becoming poisonous and ultimately affecting the health of people. Beside this, overuse of television for entertainment affects the individual’s health, making them obese and weakening their eyesight.

However, I firmly believe that these technological devices enhance the standard of living and quality of life of the masses. Cars provide the ease and convenience to commute at any place around the world at any time. For instance, a person can use his car to commute to his workplace or go on holidays with their families to enjoy the moments. Also, it helps in emergency situations. Moreover, the lives of individuals have become fast-paced in this contemporary world. Hence, people can use refrigerators to store their meals for a longer period of time, helping to save their precious time. Furthermore, the level of stress is also escalating with the responsibility; at that time, a television is a great source of entertainment, leading people to get respite from higher stress levels and spend their quality time with family members.

In conclusion, despite the drawback, including environmental degradation and healthy issues, the benefits of this trend outweigh the disadvantages. Therefore, I support this development.