It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

With the advent of technology, people nowadays like to buy their own car, TV and fridge. Although adapting these new gadgets and vehicles helps in making one’s life easy, it comes at a cost which many cannot afford.

Modern day gadgets like a car, television or a fridge have become a necessity in today’s households. These items which used to be a luxury in the past, have now become must-have things in any house these days because of their utilization purposes. For instance, if one has a personal vehicle, they do not have to depend on the timings of public transport and they are able to commute at their own convenience. Moreover, a person can avoid going to the market multiple times to buy necessities with a refrigerator at home where these essentials can be bought at once and stored. Hence, objects like refrigerators, or personal transport have become a crucial part of our daily life.

On the contrary to the benefits of technological gadgets, there are few prevailing downsides to owning a television screen, a domestic cold storage unit and a car. One of the issues is the carbon emission caused by these devices. Due to the hike in the number of new television units and refrigerators being sold and old ones being scrapped, along with the increasing number of individual cars being owned by people, the carbon emission numbers have soared up. These fundamentally affect the global environment causing drastic climate changes. Therefore, it is important for people to understand that, though owning a car, a fridge and a TV may be necessary, it is also important to keep these devices maintained while optimizing its utilization.

To conclude, it can be said that having one’s own television, an automobile and a fridge shall be beneficial, only if a person optimizes the device usage. In my view, a person needs his or her own automobile, refrigerator and television to make life easier; however, its utilization should also be kept in check to avoid any harm to our environment.