It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

It’s widely accepted that every person throughout the world wants to have at their disposal a car, a TV and a fridge. Although having these essentials have advantages, I strongly believe that disadvantages, such as traffic jams , overburden on citizens and environmental issues, far outweigh the advantages.

It’s clear, having these essentials like the car, the TV and the fridge can present to people a sense of comfort. Moreover, these things serve as help to people with their daily routine. For instance, cars facilitate people’s commuting to their workplace, fridges protect foods from a rapid spoiling, while TVs help with unwinding after work. Despite these advantages, many problems still remain, thus drawbacks outweigh all these pros.

On the other hand, the downsides are more significant. Firstly, cars creates traffic congestions, thereby would be increased the chances of accidents on roads. Another drawback is the large electricity bills created by fridges and TVs , for some individuals it could create difficulties for their budget, and force them to take extra hours at work. Finally, today’s technologies are mostly electric, and because of that people have to cut down more and more trees for powering electric stations. In addition, deforestation may threaten the wildlife, particularly animals that will have to leave their habitat. Thus, these facilities pose a threat for our sustainable environment.

In conclusion, while there are some benefits of using these appliances, the disadvantages, especially in terms of road accidents, work overload and environmental threat, far outweigh all advantages.