It has been suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people suggest that children should be taught the way to plant vegetables,keep animals and look after them at school. In this case,there are some advantages and disadvantages worth considering. From my perspective, pros of this practice outweigh the drawbacks.

One of the primary advantages of this is that learning about growing plants and animals enhances children’s understanding of the environment. This means that by observing the impact of human activities on plants and animals, children can develop a greater sense of environmental responsibility. Moreover, not only does this type of practice foster a deep respect for every form of life, but it also develops children’s life skills. Using different planting tools as well as interacting with animals provides children with exploration opportunities, and teaches responsibility and patience. For example, growing vegetables require daily attention and consistency, promoting self-discipline and independence. These skills are valuable for children’s personal growth and helps them become self-sufficient.

On the other hand, some individuals argue that there are some disadvantages to consider. One of the drawbacks people provide is allergies. Children with allergies might feel uncomfortable or excluded from these activities. This means that those allergic to animal fur or pollen may struggle to participate in these activities. Additionally, this practice may have the risk of injury, as kids use many different tools or interact with a living animal.

In conclusion, while the presented drawbacks may be a valid concern, I believe these problems can be addressed with proper planning and precaution. On that basis,I think advantages such as responsibility, enviromental awareness and learning life skills outweigh possible disadvantages.