It is a good idea to have fixed penalties for crimes, e.g. murder should always result in life imprisonment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The topic of having fixed punishments for certain crimes has always been controversial. Some people believe that fixed penalties provide important principles in the field of justice and give the affected party assurance in the fairness of the punishment. Others think this system doesn’t allow to recognize the nuances of each case. This essay will argue that fixed penalties for crimes is a good idea.

There is a main reason why the idea of having fixed punishments has many supporters. This system doesn’t allow corrupt court trials to take place and judges’ biased opinions to intervene with the final sentence. In addition to that, that consistency in system can assure the damaged party with a strict level of punishment for the offender. That way the affected side will have the feeling that the justice was served.

On the other hand, it is obvious that the damage caused by fixed penalties can be too profound and ,sadly, irreversible. Cases where people are falsely accused of committing certain crimes are happening to this day. And many of them are sentenced to life imprisonment, or even worse, death penalty. These innocent people are serving time in jail without the possibility of parole, wasting too many years of their lives. Imagine the fear of people mistakenly sentenced to death penalty while waiting for the last day to come. Furthermore, there are cases of children and young people committing crimes who won’t have the possibility to reform. They could have been under bad influence of questionable people. And in addition to that, there are always incidents involving domestic abuse, where crimes have been done only for self-defense purposes. Without the consideration of circumstances of each case, the right decision cannot be made.

In conclusion, even if the idea of having fixed penalties for crimes brings assurance in the fair punishment, without thorough investigation and consideration of the circumstances in which the offense occurred, justice can never be served.