It is a natural process that animal species such as dinosaurs become extinct. There is no reason for people to prevent this from happening?

It is believed that extinction is a natural part of animals’ life cycle, and people have no reason to prevent this process from happening. However, I disagree with this statement as people have a huge impact on the animals’ habitats and they are overhunting wild animals.

To begin with, the destruction of animals’ habitats can lead to extinctions. Due to industrialization and modernization, people are burning more fossil fuels such as coals, oils, and natural gasses than in the past. Emissions of carbon dioxide from this process will harm the environment and the ecosystem, leading to natural habitat destruction and animals dying out. For example: In 2022, it was reported that the ice in Arctic regions was melting because of global warming and climate change. As a result, many ice bears were suffering from loss of habitats and food shortages, which could lead to their disappearance in the future.

In addition, some animals are becoming extinct because of overhunting. Around the world, some body parts of wild animals such as rhino horns or elephant horns are often a symbol of wealth and status. Consequently, many people will hunt these wild animals for profits, leading to their extinction. For example, in 2016 it was reported that rhinos were in danger of vanishing as they were being poached uncontrollably for their horns.

In conclusion, it is clear that wild animals can become extinct because of people’s influence on the environment such as pollution and wildlife hunting. For these reasons, I totally disagree that people should do nothing to prevent animal’s extinctions in the future.