"It is always wrong to keep animals in captivity, for instance in zoos'. How far do you share this view?

It is believed that keeping animals in captivity, such as in zoos, is ethically unacceptable. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement as there are various reasons behind this, and I will explain why in the following essay.

Perhaps, one reason why we should consider this is that in most cases, zoos can offer a secure and peaceful setting for any species of animals. A good example of this is in high quality wildlife parks or reserves. Moreover, by letting the animals outside, the animals would suffer from loss of habitat or poaching in the wild, and in captivity the animals are at least safe and able to breed successfully. In addition, I feel that animal parks and zoological gardens are part of an integrated system of protecting animals, involving habitat protection, breeding programs and disease control. This all will help to safeguard endangered species and thus preserve the global ecosystem for the future benefit in life forms.

Looking from a different perspective, it might be said that animals do not probably suffer mentally when they live in natural life. However, I personally believe that this is a potentially unwise perspective considering the demerits that it may contain.

To sum up, it seems to me that with proper care and regulations, zoos can play a vitally important role in protecting endangered species and raising awareness about wildlife preservation.