It is believed that people who read for pleasure can develop better imagination and language skills than people who prefer to watch tv. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this argument?

More and more people rely on television as a primary source of information instead of books. Regarding this, some argue that individuals who enjoy reading tend to have more developed imagination and language skills than those who are keen on watching TV. This essay completely agrees with this argument for two reasons.

It is obvious that reading books is an active process, which stimulates readers’ cognitive development. This is when their imagination kicks in, visualizing statements in books and making necessary comparisons. In addition, books are the best way to practice one’s language skills, where reading, writing and speaking skills are consolidated. For example, children benefit tremendously from a science book for kids, which enriches their perception of the world and broadens their horizons while mesmerizing them with all the brand-new scientific words.

Another point to support this is that the majority of TV programs, in this modern era, are produced solely with one purpose – to entertain viewers. This is perfectly exemplified by the observation of workers, who comfortably resort to sitting in front of their TVs after a day at work. More often than not, they feel this is their comfort zone, being spoon-fed with instant information without feeling obliged to think hard. These workers have proven to barely contribute any creative work for their companies or organizations. Each day at work to them is a daily grind, which gives them no motivation to make progress or to be original.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that reading books is unparalleled in terms of fostering individuals’ creativity as well as their language skills due to the fact that it enables readers to think critically and constantly helps them to sharpen their linguistic aptitude, whilst watching TV does the opposite by feeding viewers with unnecessary information.