It is believed that there is a negative impact of tourism on tourist spots which is majorly due to the behaviours of people who visit there. Why do you think that people behave badly when they visit some places? What measures can be taken to resolve this issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a belief that tourism has an adverse effect on popular travel locations because of the visitors behaviour. Certain destinations cause an escalation in people’s behaviour and desperate measures are needed to curb this situation.

Firstly, many vacation locations are deemed party friendly or are considered to have relaxed rules. This enables improper behaviour as there is a lack of certain restrictions. For instance, Vegas is one of the cities which is rampant with gambling and adult clubs. Individuals who visit Vegas for occasions like bachelor parties or group trips want to destress and the lack of regulations feeds into their carefree behaviour. Therefore, visitors display inappropriate attitude and create ruckus. Tourists are the root cause for many problems locally, and are a major factor for the increase in shady businesses that entertain such crowds.

Secondly, this problem can only be resolved by creating stringent laws regarding tourist misdemeanors. Imposition of fines can assist with this situation. For instance, people in Singapore, including travellers and citizens alike are fined for littering. In Dubai, it is mandatory for individuals to follow the cardinal rule of non-consumption of eatables and drinks in public transport vehicles. A vast number of tourist spots have added barriers to restrict masses from touching and damaging art,artifacts or other such parapheranalia. Guarding of national monuments and such is necessary to save them from degradation due human touch or carelessness.

To conclude, the negative effects of tourism and tourist’s wrongful misdoings can only be avoided by the addition of action bearing laws and fines.