It is believed that there is a negative impact of tourism on tourist spots which is majorly due to the behaviours of people who visit there. Why do you think that people behave badly when they visit some places? What measures can be taken to resolve this issue? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Articles and news of travellers behaving inappropriately seem to be on the rise and some believe that this behaviour is negatively impacting tourism in tourist places. Although, tourism has given a major boost to many countries’ economies, officials need to take measures, such as raising awareness, in order to prevent tourists, who sometimes get carried away by the influence of unnecessary habits, from ruining such places.

As tourism and technology are on the boom, people think that every activity they do on their holiday should be posted on social media. This activity includes trashing, and littering which destroy the nature. Moreover, they do not behave in accordance to the traditions and culture of the destination which impacts the indigenous nature of the locals. There are several factors that could influence this kind of behaviour. But, the first question is “would this be the type of behaviour when they are at home?”.

Bad tourist behaviour can include a wide range of actions from being inconsiderate, namely blocking the road for a perfect picture; to behaving offensive in public; to involving in dangerous act, such as poaching and harming wild animals. Furthermore, the lack of knowledge and understanding of the destinations people visit could also be a cause of negative impact. Therefore, governments are forced to reiterate the measures for the greater good.

Setting strict rules and regulations on holiday places and ensuring people follow them would be beneficial for tourism as well as the natives. Installing trash cans at regular intervals could prevent people from littering. Raising awareness on the tourist spots about how ecologically they maintain such places, and setting up boards and hoardings at prone zones will remind the visitors to follow appropriately. These courses of action could urge them to preserve the sites for future travellers.