It is generally agreed that society benefits from the work of its members. Compare the contributions of artists to society with the contributions of scientists to society. Which type of contribution do you think is valued more by your society? Give specific reasons to support your answer.

I personally think artists contribute to societies as well as scientists to our society. It is a controversial problem for a long term which is more precious or which has more effect on our actual life. Some people believe that there is no use of engaging in artistic things such as drawing pictures or making sculptures. They probably categorize them as people who do hobbies without contributing to our real life because few of them are recognized and have value. I can understand that art is difficult to define easily because there are several genres and it does not always have worth as products. However, I reckon that the value just as items does not represent how the works are attractive. Of course, the feeling and preferences depend on people and they can decide their worth. Sometimes art has magnificent power to move their minds or change their minds, which is different from person to person and occasion to occasion. I find its value in this positive effect that art has originally.

When it comes to science, it always introduces significant technology in our society. For instance, people just twenty years ago could not have guessed completely the existence of smartphone which is essential to our current life. They realize unbelievably convenient lifestyles and give us joy and happiness. The people who think that art has less necessity than science may overlook that there are numerous studies which are not relevant to actual efficiency. Furthermore in a long history, scientists have undergone several mistakes or induced incorrect results. In this perspective, science and art are similar in terms of they cannot be concluded by their worth as practical use.

So, in my opinion, art and science are crucial in almost the same level for our society.