It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Some people claim that punishment is critical for teaching children to distinguish good and bad behavior. I strongly disagree with this statement, and there are some slight penalties for parents and teachers to use.

Using punishment may lead to misunderstood children’s motivations and cause extended emotional distress. Firstly, punishment does not address the root cause if an adult does not understand the reason why a child acts in an inappropriate manner. For example, one young person kicks another kid, the kid fights back and gets a punishment. It is really confusing for a child whether they protect themselves or retaliate. Moreover, giving punishment can also damage confidence and relationships. Therefore, after feeling shame, anger, and being unloved by harsh penalties, the trust and connection may not be strong anymore. Furthermore, using some positive discipline can not only guide them into correct behavior, but also help the child understand what the consequences are by clear rules, explanation, and guidance.

For parents and teachers, there are penalties that can be used to teach good attitudes. In parents’ case, they can restrict children’s freedom such as video games, and soon creating discomfort, at the same time, letting them have time for reflection. On the other side, teachers can ask them to do community service like cleaning public areas or assisting with some staff jobs, so young people can make some effort for the environment instead of receiving punishment. In addition, writing a reflective letter is a way that a child can reflect on what is the inappropriate behavior.

To sum it up, punishment can lead to misunderstanding and damage children’s thoughts, while I think some sort of wise penalty can not only guide them to realize the wrong, but also benefit their life.