It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Whether punishment is a necessary method to teach chlidren distinguish right and wrong have been widely discussed among people over centries. It’s hard to deny that excessive punishment will do harm to children’s both physical and mental health. And such a fact leads to impressionable people to generate the opinion that punishment is not allowed to regulate a child. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual errors which need to be examined meticulously. As far as individual process and social stability are concerned, I strongly hold that punishment is a appropriate way to help children study social principles.

First and foremost, punishment can help children have a better understanding of concequences. To be more specific, the most prominent discrepancy between right and wrong is that wrong behaviors will lead to bad results. Punishment can give children a feeling of scary so that they will do better in self-dicipline.

On the other hand, punishment can be seen as a tool to strenghthen regulations in family and society. When children disobey the rules, proper punishment can be helpful to cultivate a sense of order, so that society can function well.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that punishment will hurt young kids both physically and mentally. Admittedly, excessive and inappropriate method of punishment is harmful. But there’s plenty ways to punish and many of them are effective and useful. For instance, in meting out punishment, parents and educators should make sure the mearure is clear and fair, avoiding make children feel confused and unfair. In addition, the punitive behavior should be modest which won’t hurt their ego. Therefore, proper ways of punishment is a feasible way to regulate children.

Take into account all factors above, I maintain that moderate punishment is a effective way to help children distinguish right and wrong .