It is important for everyone, especially young people, to save money for their future. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is undoubtedly wise for everyone to start saving money, even the young generations, to better prepare themselves for years to come. I totally agree with this idea since it is good to be financially independent and have money management skills.

Those who save money can lead a financially secure life. For example, in sickness, rainy day savings would come in handy. If one suddenly became unemployed, he or she could live off the money that had been saved. Therefore, in the future full of unpredicted events, saving funds protects individuals from harm and provides a sense of security. Knowing there is always a plan B no matter what happens is a very reassuring thought that boosts individuals’ confidence in life.

Moreover, through saving money, people learn valuable personal financial management skills as well as appreciation for their fortune. This is because, unless coming from a family with generational wealth, everyone has to learn to use their limited amount of money wisely and manage to save some of it, which develops financial management skills. This kind of skill would likely benefit people later in life when, for instance, moving out of their parents’ home. For youngsters, once they learn how to spend money responsibly, they eventually appreciate the true value of money.

In conclusion, I believe that a rainy day fund is what everyone needs nowadays when things are so complicated regarding economic recessions, job market instability and general health. Having this type of fund not only provides financial security but also helps individuals to develop financial management skills which is much needed for the future.