It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Taking risks to succeed in every aspect of life whether it is personal or professional comes with both advantages and drawbacks. I believe that risks are significantly important because without them one will never learn their potential, and people should be motivated to get out of their comfort level to explore more opportunities.

There are countable drawbacks that one needs to consider before taking any risks. This involves various factors such as determining financial condition, decision-making, and having alternative income options. To elaborate, if an individual is struggling financially, and does not have an alternative income for support, taking risks will make the situation worse, and can result in bankruptcy and homelessness. For example, many young entrepreneurs are keen to earn a quick buck and become successful in no time. This results in them taking uncertain risks where they invest all their life savings in stocks and NFTs without knowing any of the consequences, and thus, lose all the savings in a minute. Therefore, risk measures without prior analysis of costs and advantages will lead to unwanted circumstances.

On the other hand, taking risks have several great advantages in private and professional life. Many individuals and brands started from nothing, however, by taking risks and carefully planning their steps they reached success. One of the examples is a corporate worker from a company named GEN-Z. While he was working at this company, he was not able to make ends meet because of his low income. He planned to take a risk and start investing 10 percent of his income in the company shares which he was working for. He mentioned that he noticed his company is successfully growing, however, his salary is the same. In a year he invested $50,000 in company stocks from which he earned double the amount he invested. In conclusion, he stated that now he is a 15 percent shareholder and a partner with the company. Thus, making ambitious goals and careful planning are important before taking risks, and outweigh the drawbacks.

To conclude, risks are important for tremendous growth and are therefore advisable. The disadvantages of risk-taking can also be mitigated in most contexts by not being inordinately reckless.