Should schools encourage individuality or conformity? Which one is most beneficial for a child's future?

There is an ongoing debate whether it is better for schools to promote individuality or conformity. This essay will argue that being an independent and unique individual might benefit children more than conforming to social standards.

Encouraging students to express themselves in a non-standard way may have a significant impact on their mental state and development. In other words, being forced to fit into social norms negatively impacts students’ self-confidence and does not allow them to express their individuality. For instance, although implementing uniforms prevents inequality regarding fashion, it contributes to conventional thinking and lowers self-esteem. Thus, encouraging children to dress in the unique way or to listen to all kinds of music they prefer might foster critical thinking, creativity and help learners to think independently.

Despite the discipline which conformity contributes to, individuality enables to reflect on one’s personal interests and strengths which is crucial for a future career path. Firstly, being an independent individual provides an opportunity to explore one’s personality more deeply and be confident about career aspirations. For example, it is evident that individuals who might have been afraid to self-express are prone to question their ambitions and desires, Hence, it may lead to severe mental disorders such as depression or anxiety. As a result, individuality results in numerous benefits including psychological well-being and a chance to gain clarity about one’s career path.

In conclusion, while conformity builds discipline and ensures the following of social norms, the individuality allows people to acquire mental resilience and distinct understanding of one’s goals and ambitions.