It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Taking risks is an intricate aspect of a person’s life, either relating to work or their individual lives. While this comes with a lot of disadvantages, I am strongly of the opinion that its advantages are far greater because it’s in taking risks that breakthroughs are born.

On one hand, a major disadvantage of taking risks is the fear of the unknown and the anxiety that comes with it. For example, a couple intending to get married whose genotypes are both “AS” but who goes ahead to get married takes the risk of one of their kids getting the “SS” genotype. Also, people are faced with taking financial risks, such as making a new investment in which they could lose a substantial amount of money and sometimes all their money. Risk-taking puts people in all-or-null situations.

On the other hand, we live in a fast-paced world that is constantly evolving. Therefore, to keep up with it, there is a need to also evolve. Individuals are faced with making difficult decisions all the time, and to achieve certain goals, one must take a leap of faith. People want better jobs, higher pay, bigger businesses, promotion and so on. To achieve this, they must be willing to make tough choices. For example, the likes of Mike Zuckerberg had to drop out of school in pursuit of their passion, knowing it could go bad.

In conclusion, while a lot of people might want to remain conservative in order to avoid unpleasant outcomes, putting themselves out their and making tough calls presents them with opportunities to become the best version of themselves.