It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In many countries, a small number of students are choosing to study science in universities. There are several reasons why this is the case, and in my opinion, its impact is mostly negative.

With the advance in technology, many people believe that it is not necessary to study science. It is indeed more effortless and easier to obtain further information on the internet rather than spending years on studying and making research on it. What is more, it provides access to everybody, through applications such as ChatGPT, Grok and Google, not only students but every individual can get various knowledge about the topics they would like to sharpen their perspective, making the chances of choosing science at universities low. Furthermore, many students merely do not want to be a scientist. For example, a student might not want to spend his or her life on things which often stressful and overwhelming, it is well-known that scientists work on difficult projects,whereas they might be aiming to work in different field. It is quite unpredictable most of younger people’s priority, as majority of them do not reveal their goals.

Beyond these reasons, students should understand the importance of scientists. Without their efforts, those apps which are mentioned above might not even exist. It is certainly their work and information on those things are provided by them. In addition, if students keeps not choosing science, we might experience a significant decline in the number of scientists, which may prompt to numerous downfalls. One of them is decreasing data and small amount of new breakthroughs, as there should be enough number of people to do these things. In other words, we need scientists especially for things which we cannot do without them, such as space exploration and creating new tools to enhance human lives, we have to encourage young individuals to study science.

To sum up, students who are not willing to study science might be uninterested with it, though it carries many disadvantages. In my opinion, the have to be encouraged to study and master this important subject.