It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, there is an increasing trend of students opting for science subjects over other subjects in universities. This is leading to reduction in number of students for other fields such as arts, literature, history and causing vacant seat in various non-science sections. Due to the above reason, there are fewer artist and poets in our society. The essay looks at various reasons and impact on the society

Firstly, Students with science degree are more likely to get high paying jobs which provides better livelihood. Moreover, researchers and scientists are also highly respected in the society due to their notable contribution in medical fields and technology. In my own experience, I have seen most of my school friends opting for science stream rather than choosing commerce or arts stream. They felt future is unreliable in other fields as financial stability would always remain a concern in non-science stream.

Because of this , society is also facing unemployment due to excess supply than demand. For example, India has approximately 2 million unemployed youth with graduate or post graduate degree in science. Several Institutions has increased science courses and removed courses which has less students intake in arts. The government also tends to fund more in research than arts and cultural activities which is leading to reduced interest in current generation.

In conclusion, More and more students are choosing science stream over non-science stream due to financial incentives and for a better source of income. This trend will likely cause shortage of scholars in history, arts and literature and will have negative effect on social fabric .