It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

In society, it has been observed in many countries that they are lacking students who prefer studying science as a subject. In most cases, especially in Indonesia, this happens because of other interests and limited job prospects related to science. As a result, it will affect the world by resulting in fewer scientists, leading to finite innovation that changes the world thoroughly.

Nowadays, most students have ignored science due to other interesting subjects. For instance, students think that history has broader knowledge that can be applied on a daily basis compared to chemistry, where the complex concepts have to be grasped in a harsh way due to the stiffness of the theory. Moreover, students who have chosen science either become science academicians or lecturers, and that is a common phenomenon in Indonesia. Whilst these jobs need full dedication towards a specialized subject, many people find it dull.

Consequently, many countries have few science researchers, and it will damage the world in terms of innovation. Most of the advanced technologies are invented by scientists; due to the lack of scientists, society will have a more delayed revolution than it is supposed to be. Furthermore, scientists have an essential role to cure diseases. For example, the 2020 pandemic, Covid-19, had affected the world in many aspects such as population and economy. The medics in the world collaborated, trying to cure the virus, and they found a vaccine later. Afterwards, the vaccines lessened the economic damage and reduced the risk of death.

In summary, many countries are having a limited number of scientists due to monotonous and unvaried job prospects. In addition, high dedication is also required to become a science-related academician. Then, it will affect the revolution in the world.