It is often said that government is spending too much money on wildlife protection while there are other important problems

In today’s globalised era, the question of which initiative the council should allocate funds to has sparked considerable debate. Some argue that excessive funds are directed towards biodiversity conservation, neglecting the other prominent challenges. I contend with this viewpoint, as wildlife protection as well as other projects are equally essential for leading an ideal life.

To commence, environmental degradation caused by human activities has severely impacted the ecosystems, which is why governments should invest money to preserve them. For instance, the authorities allocated approximately 600 crore towards the ‘Project Tiger’ scheme, which successfully led to rising tiger population and better habitats. Additionally, in recent years, the significant increase of toxins in oceans and seas have resulted in the extinction of numerous species. Thus, administrations should initiate strategic plans to conserve wildlife, which is interconnected to human well-being.

Nevertheless, the budget must also be spent on pressing issues, such as poverty. Research indicates that, in India, 50% of population living in slums have inadequate access to basic facilities, including healthcare, sanitation and food security, thereby leading to over-exploitation of resources. Moreover, pollution, that affects both humans and wildlife, should be another major focus of government. For instance, increased funding towards green initiatives is necessary, such as the ‘Go Green’ program which brought about major improvements.

In conclusion, as both wildlife and people are interconnected, I believe that effective funding towards human welfare as well as biodiversity related projects must be carried out. In my opinion, governments should spend equal amount of money towards them.