Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehiclefree days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Authorities in some cities have decided to make regulations which prohibit private cars, trucks and motorbikes from passing the city center. Meanwhile, they allowed public transportation like buses, taxis and metros. In my opinion, this decision offers more advantages rather than the disadvantages. This essay will explain further the reasons.

The first advantages from car-free days are reducing air pollution. As we all know that most city centers have a main problem in providing quality healthy air due to the overquantity of vehicles on the road. Not only caused pollution, but this problem also worsened the traffic flow. This can be proven for example when policymakers implemented regulation requiring lockdown to minimize COVID-19’s spreadness. After that policy, the air pollution suddenly declined to green-level which indicated that air quality at that time was very good, clear vision, and healthy. Another advantage that we can take from car-free day regulations is the reduction of traffic flow. With banning private cars or motorbikes from passing the city center, the society will be faster to mobilize using public transportation. In some cities, like Jakarta for example, the government still allowed public transportation to come across at city center (Bundaran HI) during car-free day and and people are also free to exercise, such as jogging or walking, along the main roads in the area.

Despite those facts mentioned above, on the contrary, car-free day policy also has minor disadvantages. Especially if the government doesn’t support the quantity and also the quality of public transportations. If that happens, this regulation will cause some inconveniences, such as overcrowded in mass transportations and discomfort feelings in society when commuting with it. For instance, in Jakarta, the recreational routes which connect Jakarta-Bogor, experience an increasing number of users on the weekend due to the car-free day regulation. But for me personally, this regulation still offers significant benefits far outweighs the downside.

In conclusion, while the vehicle-free regulation can cause more benefits, like reducing air pollution and declining traffic congestion, the government also should be concerned with the temporary minor inconveniences impacted, such as the overcrowded and discomforts along commuting by public transportation. Therefore, I believe that the positives outweigh the negatives.