It is often suggested that social media platforms should be held legally responsible for the content posted by their users to prevent the spread of misinformation. Others argue that this would infringe on freedom of speech and that responsibility should lie with the individual. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In modern society, It is becoming one of the most common problems throughout the world. Because many younger generations have a tendency to use modern gadgets, social website and platforms. Some individuals argue that social media platforms should take responsiblity for the content created by that platform users. However, the rest of people do not argue this viewpoint, because they cosider that is unfair.

Firstly, the human population consists of 8 billion individuals and every single one has their various opinions, behavior and mindset. Thus, social media platforms might not manage to control and check every single users or posts. It would be unfair to judge them by someones fault. Secondly, over-restricting might get people bored and reduce the number of platform users, even though how useful it is. Therefore, online platforms should give some freedom to their users. For example, the owners of the platfom may worn about illegal contents or banning before users post.

On the other hand, giving too much freedom might be detrimental for other users. For instance, posting harmful acts such as destroying something, even worse than killing some creatures may negatively impact on their mood. In additon, such unuseful contents may lead some teenagers to criminal or harmful lifestyle. This problem cannot be overlooked. Therefore, we should be aware of it.

In conclusion, we should not only blame online social media platforms for misinformation, but also users should take responsibility for their actions. This viewpoint is open to criticism. From my perspective, taking responsibility for other individuals’ misconduct might not be fair.