It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime?

Nowadays, there has been a substantial increase in crime rates both online and offline due to technological advancement and access, especially from the young. Even though lots of people claim that violence in the media is not a real culprit to blame, this essay will investigate why it is partly responsible for the issue, juvenile crime, as well as providing some alternative measures to alleviate the situation.

It is difficult to deny that presenting violent content on the media contributes more or less to youth crimes. That is to say, several violent behaviors are influenced by social media, especially those presenting aggressive actions, such as fighting and killing. These can embed sets of hostile attitudes as the young audience might perceive that what is displayed on the screen is appropriate, filtered, and acceptable, which can first lead to possessing threatening behaviours and eventually transform a person into a real criminal, committing radical crimes. As a result, being exposed to violence-related content triggers a rise in unlawful acts in adolescents.

To minimise this, violent programs should have age restrictions. With this, it can alleviate the problem of kids, especially the underage, accessing inappropriate content, as they are immature and lack discernment. Without these restrictions, they will engage with content without awareness and critical thinking. However, by introducing or setting age restrictions, improper content will be initially blocked, filtering the level of the audience at the first stage. As content is restricted, it is easier to control the curious teens rather than educating them after receiving the content.

In conclusion, despite other potential factors contributing to juvenile crime, it is undisputable that the media partially constitute clear violent examples with sounds and visuals. Therefore, one of the effective solutions is to avoid the young receiving that content at first.