It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime can be attributed to violence in the media. Do you agree that this is the main cause of juvenile crime?

Generally speaking, it is widely acknowledged that the TV channels, social medias, and a various of websites have a significant influence over people, especially the youth. Reportedly, the content that these medias are publishing fairly frequently contains some violent scenes and even cruel messages. However, I am totally convinced that there are many other factors that provoke juvenile crimes more than a violence in the media.

First of all, it is essential to underscore that many juveniles mainly are influenced by their surroundings. This means that a new acquaintances and friends are much more important in a standing of one’s behavior and character than violence in the media. For instance, in many contemporary companies many teenagers are using drugs, smoking, drinking alcohol and so on and so forth. Consistently, it theoretically may negatively influence one’s nervous system. Moreover, one must contend that a family also plays a vital role in adolescents’ lives. To illustrate, the parents’ alcohol addiction is much more harmful for teenagers’ psyche than violent content in the media, since it is happening in front of their eyes. From my point of view, these examples are much more painful and memorable than violence in the media, inasmuch as they are happening with a child, in front of a child, not in a virtual reality.

Nevertheless, it is impossible not to mention that young people are fairly imaginative and they are likely to imitate what they see. For example, some celebrities may act badly for the sake of popularity and money, consequently, many children will try to be similar to them. Furthermore, most children spent 4-6 hours in their telephones, mostly on social medias that, unfortunately, promote a violent content from time to time; it goes without saying how much it may influence such a susceptible age category as children. On top of that, the crucial scenes that are shown on official TV channels or on such platforms as Instagram snd Telegram possibly may lead to one’s aggressiveness and irritability, which in turn, might result in juvenile crimes.

To conclude, even though the media has a big impact on children, it does not play a crucial role, since there exist many of other various aspects influencing youngsters.