It is predicted that in the future, printed books or newspapers will become obsolete and people will choose online reading materials due to its availability for free. Personally, I am inclined to disagree with this perspective and the following essay will elaborate the reasons for my disagreement.

To begin with, not all sources provide free reading material. I admit some websites allow the readers to access their contents without having to pay anything, but there are also many websites that encourage people to purchase their articles. For example, some popular online newspapers and journals, offer subscription plans for full access into their contents, while non-subscriptions are limited to only a small amount of articles. Similarly to e-books and other online contents, if legally distributed, only available in paid form.

Moreover, physical books are difficult to replace with online reading materials due to people love the experience of collecting physical books and make annotation on paper based books. Some people also prefer to read printed books because they like the smell of new books, for them it is a calming fragrance. Additionally, online articles are not convenient for some individuals because it can make their eyes become tired from staring at the screen for too long and it also can reduce their concentration in reading.

On other hand, it is crucial for us to acknowledge the benefits of online reading materials. The primary advantages of unprinted books and newspaper that it is doesn’t take much effort to carry it. The e-books and newspapers can be accessed anytime and anywhere just by using gadgets, such as handphone and iPad.

In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of online books. Online materials have a significant benefit in order to its mobility and accessibility. But, I believe that e-books and online articles can not replace the existence of physical books. There are many experiences that people can not be obtained from online books, such as enjoying the smell of new paper and collecting the physical book.