It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, there has been a prediction that technological advancement enables 21st century individuals to have more free time. From my perspective, this improvement will assist people in many aspects of life like education, yet it also provokes addictions of using technological devices in the community, adversely affecting public health. In this essay, I will provide rationales for my belief.

Initially, the development of technology supports humans in the educational field. Obviously, with the assistance of high-tech devices, pupils have multiple means to engage in education and minimize wasteful time. To be more precise, in Covid 19 pandemic period, it is explicit that almost all areas need to be blocked down to mitigate the infectious speed of the disease in the public, thereby postponing school time for students. In this case, students had to participate in online classes through digital applications such as Zoom and Google Meets in order to carry on their educational progress. In this way, not only was the hindrance of studying in this time solved, another advantage was spurred as well. Students could spend time utilized for moving to educational institutes on harnessing lessons at home and relaxing effectively.

Conversely, the enhancement of technology triggers technological addiction in society, resulting in eye-diseases. As the cutting edge gadgets allow users to release stress by many ways such as playing games and reading e-comics, time employed for these online spaces will increase, detrimentally affecting their eyes health. In fact, young generations are conducive to approaching technological devices easily, thereby promoting the proportion of children having eye problems. A prime example is in Vietnam. It is recorded by the Thanh Nien press that about half of students in primary schools have to wear glasses to see clearly, especially in urban areas where most children can access technology at an early age.

In conclusion, the advancement of technology has both merit and downside, encompassing the support in daily life and the risk of health problems.