It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that people will have more spare time in the future thanks to advanced technologies. While I understand why people will have more freetime, I believe that the improvement of technology also brings about a wide range of limitations to their leisure time.

On the one hand, It is reasonable that people will have time for themselves because of the advancement of technology. To begin with, robots may replace people at several manual works. For instance, household chores may be done by advanced technologies, such as vacuum cleaner and dishwasher, so people can spend that time engaging in other leisure activities. Moreover, there are various driverless cars which do not require humans’s control. Hence, during the drive, people can spend time doing other activities instead of driving.

On the other hand, I believe that many issues related time limitations will be brought about according to the technology’s progress. Firstly, technologies may pose a threat to manual workers. Because robots are more likely to replace people at manual works, this may give rise to the higher unemployment rate. Additionally, people may struggle to find a job and earn a living, so they may have no freetime. Secondly, rapid technological advancement will require workers with higher skills in order to control all advanced technologies. In particular, learning and developing skills may take a significant amount of people’s time, so people may not have enough time for themselves.

In conclusion, while I acknowledge that the amelioration of technology will help people have more spare time regarding doing manual works and driving cars, I believe that numerous problems associated time-consuming will be brought about in terms of earning a living and developing skills.