It is predicted that with the development of technology, people in the 21st century will have much more free time. To what extent has the prediction come true? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some predictions anticipated that advancements in technology will lead to people in the 21st century having significantly more leisure time. From my standpoint of view, I believe that this prediction only partly comes true.

On the one hand, the development of technology is beneficial for several reasons. Firstly, the increase of robot integration in daily life such as automation and smart devices can help people to reduce the burden of housework. For instance, various smart devices and automation are created, such as floor – cleaning robots and automatic dishwashers, to help people have more leisure time. Instead of doing the housework after a busy day, people can spend their free time for family or other things that they are interested in. Additionally , specific technologies, such as robots , can assist humans in performing hazardous and physically demanding tasks, reducing the risk of workplace accidents, and even helping us manage work more efficiently.

Despite the above mentioned ideas, I believe that the development of technology can bring some negative impact to human life including job displacement and skill requirements. It can be clearly seen that technological advancements have also led to job displacement in some sectors, requiring workers to retrain and adapt to new roles. Mechanical engineers are a typical example, the development of technology might have changed their position so they need to learn new things and adapt with that. The stress and time investment involved in this transition can offset the benefits of increasing ed leisure time.

In conclusion, while technological advancements help people have more leisure time by the creation of automation and smart devices, it also requires people in job displacement and skill requirements. I believed that this prediction only partly comes true.