**It is sometimes argued that too many students go to university, while others claim that a university education should be a universal right.** **Discuss both sides of the argument and give your own opinion.**

In some advanced counties, it is not unusual for more than 50% of young adults to attend college or universities, however, claim that many university courses are worthless and young people would be better off gaining skills in work place. In this essay, I will examine both side of this and try to reach at a conclusion.

There are several reasons why university has become a popular choice for young people. First, growing prosperity in many parts of the world has increased the number of families with money to invest in their children future. At the same time, falling birth rates means that one or two-child families have become common, increasing the level of investment in each child. Its hardly surprising, therefore, that young people are willing to let their families support them until the age of 21 or 22. Furthermore, millions of new job have been created in knowledge industries, and these jobs are typically open only to university graduates.

However, it often appears that graduates end up in occupations unrelated to their university studies. It is not uncommon for an English literature major to end up working in sales, or an engineering graduate to retain as a teacher, for example, some critics have suggested that young people are just delaying their entry into the work place, rather than developing professional skills a more serious problem is that the high course of university education will mean that many families reluctant to have more than one child, exacerbating the falling birthrates in certain countries.

In conclusion, while it can be argued that too much emphasis is placed on a university education, my own opinion is that the university years play crucial time for personal development. if people enter the work place aged 18, their future options may be severely restricted. Attending university allows them time to learn more about themselves and make more appropriate choice of career.