It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

In the advance of living with technology, the trend of people of having more free time will increase compared to the past. Regarding this, I completely agree for some reasons and will elaborate it through this essay.

First is the convenient of getting human’s basic needs. In my opinion, the basic needs of human consist of three things which are clothing, housing, and food. As we are living in the modern life, technology is able produce all of that, thus we do not have to process from scratch because we can buy it. It did not occur in the past because for example, people needed to harvest their grain, processed it into flour before cooked it, which definitely took time. Regardless the personal values, wealth status or healthy issues, living in modern life hampers people to spend more time to only get our basic needs. Therefore, if our human needs are sufficient, we will have free time.

Second is simplicity of doing household chores. Doing chores is somehow considered as a burden, especially in the past where people needed to do chores manually with hands. However, today we can experience that from washing clothes to cleaning floors, it all can be done by machines or even robots, and even better we do not require to assist it all day long. All the technology is set up for modern people to be more productive at office work, but if we do not count productivity at work as necessary values, it means that we have more free time.

In conclusion, technology will help people to get its basic needs without having urgency to process it or do it manually. it means that our existence as a human is completed and therefore, we will get free time to do something valuable, like working at the office.