It was predicted that, with the development of technology, people in the 21st century would have much more free time in the past. To what extent has this prediction come true?

We live in an age where some of us predict that the development of technology can help people in the 21st century have more spare time. Personally, I totally agree with this view.

There are several reasons why people in the 21st century have more free time with the development of technology. Firstly, people can spend less time on doing household chores, such as cooking, cleaning the house, doing laundry, making a bed, and more. It can be explained that around two-thirds of a day was spent on finishing all household chores, so housewives did not have enough time to look after themselves and pursue their careers in the past. However, thanks to the appearance of modern machines, doing housework is not a time-consuming activity, because the programmed machines have the ability to do housework. As a result, women now have more time to spend on themselves, even make contributions to the development of the national economy

From the mathematic perspective, the modern technology can allow the calculation processes to be quicker and more accurate. For instance, mathematicians may had to allocate some years to deal with the complex mathematic issues. However, up to present, there has been a near fivefold decrease in the amount of time spent on calculating. Consequently, instead of staying in laboratories for a long time, they can stay at home to take a rest or spend time for their families. Moreover, it is easier and more time-saving for people in the 21st century to look into the necessary information with the searching apps, such as google. Meanwhile, people who live before the 21st century needed to spend lots of time on going to libraries to find the essential information